BIGtheme.net http://bigtheme.net/ecommerce/opencart OpenCart Templates
Home / Testimonials / Testimonials
lounge_1000x680

Testimonials

When we embarked on this project in 2006, our policy was to provide a superior level of excellence. Although all precautions are taken to ensure that all is perfect in the villa, sometimes things can go wrong – just as in any home. In these exceptional cases, our guests are assured that we are always available to solve any problem or answer any questions and provide them with the most enjoyable and carefree vacation of their lives. This care and attention has been rewarded by the feedback, reviews and recommendations that we have received and we would like to share some of them with you.

We are not long back from our stay at Casa do Sonho villa, and the four of us agreed that it was one of the best holidays we have ever been on. The villa is in an absolutely beautiful location, the photos on the site don’t even do the views justice. Any evening we stayed at the villa for dinner, we ate in the conservatory area watching the lights come on in Faro. The villa is far from any built up resorts, but this is perfect if that is what you are looking for. The house was lovely and clean and really well presented, really felt homely. Laura added to this by having a little welcome pack of goodies waiting for us. We also had a problem with one of the doors, which Laura got sorted for us as soon as possible. We have already recommended the villa to family and friends, and had checked ourselves to see if we could get back this year. Unfortunately, the villa is unavailable for our dates! Will definitely be going back though.

Helen Bolger
who stayed with us in May 2010

My wife and I spent two weeks at Casa do Sonho. In the first place I`d like to point out that in this case reality is superior to the photos. The house is situated in a quiet area. If you`re eager to meet other tourists, you have to chase`em down. They are simply not there. The view is more than breathteaking. So is the sunset. The house displays very good and solid standards at all levels. Enjoying breakfast at sunrise was an excellent start each and every day. Hiring a car is strongly recommended. And then you have beaches and a selection of pittoresque villages within reach. It took us a 2 hrs drive in order to get to Seville where we stayed at Hotel Becquer for one night. Excellent standard, rates, service and location. Ricardo and Laura are very welcoming and provided us with all assistance required. Eating out, which we did almost every evening, took place at Flor da Ameixa. We did not have the slightest thought of going anywhere else. Tasty food, low prices and friendly service. Going for the optimal vacation in Algarve? You don`t have to search any further.

Erik Nordgreen
who stayed with us in July 2012

Its a lovely house. Everything you need is there. It was perfect clean and has a great pool and amazing view. We enjoyed every minute. The owners were very helpfull and friendly, did all their best to let us feel welcome. Best restaurant in the neighbourhood is in Gorjoes .Le Marquis Really super location and the food en service are excellent.

The Benders family
who stayed with us in September 2013

We – 6 adults – had a lovely stay for a short holiday i september. The house and especialy the view is even more lovely than the pictures. The house is clean and well maintained and there was plenty of room for all of us. The owner took well care of us and it was wonderfull to find eggs, milk, cakes and fruit at the arrival. Particulas as we arrived late at night. All in all we recomend the house warmly, both for a family stay as for a short “get away” holiday for adults. You must have a car for a stay in this house.

Anne Marie Thyrring & Friends
who stayed with us in September 2012

We all enjoyed our stay in the Algarve very much and will definately be returning. The villa was amazing, we couldn’t think of any negative points I’m sorry, it was wonderful. Hope to see you again in the future.

Judith Harding
who stayed with us in June 2012

We had a wonderful time at the villa, it had everything we needed including the BBQ, it is furnished to a very good standard as shown in the advert making the stay pleasant and comfortable just like being home from home, it was a pleasure to return to the villa of an evening and sit by the poolside having a beer or two in the peace and quiet also have a dip in the large pool to cool down! Laura & Ricardo are very helpful to the point of giving details on the Tomtom update for local places to shop, restaurants & beaches also were very helpful giving us guidance where to find a local optician to get a pair of glasses repaired. Thank you both Laura & Ricardo.

Peter Probets
who stayed with us in August 2011

We had a really good time and thanks so much for helping to arrange our holiday. The house was beautiful and clean as was the pool. We were appreciative of the food and wine you left for us on arrival. It was great to be met at the airport and apologies again for keeping Ricardo waiting. Also it was good of you to get up early on Sat when we left to take back the keys.

Peter Wright
who stayed with us in July 2011

Thanks for letting us use the villa. It was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. The view and the ambiance was incredible. Very peaceful and there was lots of room for the two of us to stretch out. I really cannot think of anything that could be improved.

Shobhik Chaudhuri
who stayed with us in May 2010

Our stay in the villa “Casa do Sonho” in october 2009 were fantastic!! From the beginning of our journey till the end, when we’re getting home, one of us four women was in continious contact to Laura who helped us very well to make the preparations for the trip simple. When we arrived at Faro airport both of them welcomed us very friendly and after getting our hire car we followed them to the villa in Bordeira hills. Inside the villa we found lots of nice rooms equipped with everything you need … But the very best we found outside: the big pool and the terrace with a view like in a romantic film! Also the weather was very good so that we could visit nice beaches near Faro and Albufeira. The tomtom of Laura and Ricardo told us the ways …With the car we had the chance to visit some other places like Loule, Albufeira and Fonte Benemola. The seven days of our trip ended so fast, so that we can say: We will come again! Sonja, Bettina, Andrea, Ilka

Sonja & Friends
who stayed with us in October 2009

Having just returned from 17days on our first villa holiday and after reading the reviews to help us choose where to go, we just had to add our own thoughts. From the moment we decided to book we were in continuous contact with Laura who made the booking simple and sorted our requirements for our stay. The four of us arrived at Faro Airport and were met by Ricardo with a warm welcome. After getting our hire car (a must) we followed him to the villa in the hills of Bordeira. We went through the private electric gates of the villa where there was a garage for two cars and outside parking for plenty. The inside of the villa was spacious, clean and well presented. Every room was well equipped with everything you would need for a holiday; it was more like a home from home. The photos of the villa and views are good, but they just don’t do them justice. The views are terrific! Sitting by the pool at night with a glass of wine, watching the sunset and the moon rising in the sky and seeing the twinkling lights of Faro are things we never tired of throughout our entire stay. Laura and Ricardo leant us their TomTom onto which they had loaded various points of interest from restaurants, supermarkets, post office, cash machines and places to visit. We found it very useful, especially to find the villa again in the first few days there! We felt the villa was ideally placed to explore the Algarve. We went to Sagres in the southwest and all the away along the coast to Spain, as well as visiting places in the hills of Algarve. We enjoyed days lazing by the pool as much as returning to the villa in the evenings having explored the Algarve. After swimming, sitting taking in the sun we were entertained by Swallows flying in formation and swooping down to the pool for a drink and by frogs croaking in the pond. To sit in the tranquility of the hills, away from busy resorts and roads, enjoying a BBQ and drink and listening to the sound of nature in your own private villa was very relaxing. We ate frequently at the nearest restaurant that Ricardo & Laura recommended ‘Flor de Ameixa’ (a place that if you drove by you wouldn’t necessarily go into). If you are a fish / meat lover then this is the place for you. The beef steak, pork loin, lambs, ribs, chicken were wonderful and the portions were huge. The selection and quality of fish was superb. We would recommend your villa to anyone looking for a good base from which to explore, but wanting peaceful, private, excellent quality self catering accommodation. Thank you once again Laura and Ricardo for a lovely holiday, and also for providing us with much useful information both in advance and during our stay. We will remember Casa do Sonho forever.

Colin and Jess Ponsford
who stayed with us in July 2009

We all really enjoyed our week at the villa. The location was fantastic and we felt at home in the villa from the start. Bedrooms/Bathrooms were lovely, we really appreciated the Air Conditioning, as it was quite a hot week. Swimming pool was absolutely perfect, in both size and temperature. Kitchen was great, as was having a dishwasher. The sofa wasn’t that comfortable, but didn’t really cause us much of a problem. To summarise – we loved it and will definately come back!

Christopher Park
who stayed with us in June 2008

We absolutely loved staying in your beautiful villa. Thank you for meeting us at the airport, a nice touch and I don’t think we could have found it without you. As it was my Mum’s 60th birthday we wanted to treat her and your villa was perfect. She said that she felt very special staying in such a lovely place and driving through our own electric gates every day. You have many home comforts there which you don’t always get in rental properties – internet, sound system in every room, use of SatNav, a very well equipped kitchen (particularly like the ice maker on the fridge), and lots of books and DVD’s to choose from. The views are spectacular and have to be seen, photos do not do it justice. We even used the pool although it was late April and most definately “refreshing”. We ate in the local restaurant (Flor de Ameixa) you recommended 3 times during the week which became our favorite – the food and service were excellent and at a very good price. All in all a fantastic villa with everything you could ask for.

Ty Smith and family
who stayed with us in April 2008

We both had such a wonderful time!! The villa – your home – was just wonderful, & truly was even better than expectations. Beautiful, comfortable, spacious, with every facility we might have needed, and WOW – What a View!!!! Even the first couple of days with the cold and cloudy weather we still had a great time relaxing, wrapped up in the den with a roaring fire, watching all the DVDs you had left for us, and brushing up a little on the 2nd World War history. I must say, the welcome from you, Laura, at the airport was really lovely, and took any of the normal fears about ‘how the heck do we find the villa from the airport’ away!! We had some absolutely beautiful weather in Portugal, started each day at a different spot on the terrace taking in the views, then headed out to many of your favourite spots, beaches & restaurants. Again, something that was really helpful to us, knowing which areas would be best to visit – and with your trusty sat nav – managed to get to each one really easily! Thank you both so so much. We had an absolutely wonderful holiday, made even better because of the two of you, and will definitely be recommending your villa to family & friends!

Sarah and Andy Parker
who stayed with us in March 2008

Everything at the villa was fantastic, it really was the best villa we stayed in so far. The best things were: the view is stunning and no photos can do it justice; the peace and quiet and no noise from neighbours; the villa is very comfortable and furnished better than most (as it originally a home rather than a rental villa); the conservatory so we could sit and enjoy the view even when it was raining; the electric awnings to shade the patio so we could all sit outside for meals even if the sun was too hot; the kitchen is very large and beautifully designed and very well equipped – dishwasher was especially welcome! the shower in the bathroom is very good – the water pressure is excellent! the computer was great so I could stay in touch with news and weather and check in for our flight home.

David Goodfellow
who stayed with us in June 2007

It was even better than we imagined, and your hospitality was so kind; we certainly appreciated your generosity of time in meeting us at the airport. I doubt we could have found the villa on our own! Of course, by the end of our stay I knew my way around the area reasonably well, and what a delightful area it is. As lovely as Faro, Olhao and the other towns were, it was always a pleasure to retreat to the hills/mountains at the end of a day and look out over the coastal area as the lights came on in the evening, while we sat by the pool with a drink surveying the dusky panorama and the children had their evening/night-time swim. The villa had everything anyone could possibly want in a holiday home, and more! It is hard to say what we enjoyed most: every aspect of the villa was devine. For me, the airy ‘spaciousness’ was fabulous. I also loved the hillside breezes that refreshed me whenever I wanted. The girls loved the pool, both for swimming and topping up their suntans. Our son was happiest just sitting in the computer/TV lounge, playing his guitar while we went out shopping, and then he emerged after dark for a night-time swim. Gloria simply enjoyed swimming and then sitting on the terrace enjoying the glorious views. We could each be somewhere in the property and ‘get lost’ from each other, if we wanted to!

Nic Fontaine-Willey & family
who stayed with us in June 2007

The house was everything we needed it to be. Just like a home from home with the books, ornaments and personal touches, it was really nice to return in the evening after a pleasant meal at a local restaurant or over in Vilamoura, Albefuira or one of the other towns and villages within relatively easy reach of Bordeira.
The weather wasn’t as kind to us as it might have been with some rain and very cool evenings, but the wood burner was just the job, keeping us warm and cosy in the evenings.
Best thing about the house was the splendid location, up in the hills with wonderful views out to Faro and the sea beyond. The conservatory was lovely, warming up in the sunshine despite the relatively cool temperatures outside and making a great place to sit quietly and read during the day and of course that view was there to be enjoyed between pages.
If there was a negative, it was simply our timing because we were a bit too early in the year. No doubt in the summer the pool is superbly refreshing, but for off season, it looks great but was too cold for us to enjoy.
This was our second trip to this region and the house exceeded our expectations.
If we come back to the Algarve again, we will certainly be in touch.

Carrol family
who stayed with us in March 2007

We have stayed in one or two villas from the same website, but this one, and in particular the owners of the villa, surpassed our expectations. From the moment we arrived in Portugal, meeting the villa owner at the airport, being taken on a wonderful journey through the hills to the villa and then viewing the villa and the facilities, set the scene for what was to become a most memorable week. What sets this villa and the owners apart was: Wonderful location Superb facilities Discreet contact during the week to see if everything was alright, Recommendations of places to see and places to eat (all excellent), A farewell meeting the night before flying out We will not forget the owners of our villa and our relaxing evenings sat beside the pool watching the sun set and, must not forget the swallows flying in formation seeking a drink from the swimming pool – magical!

Carolyn and Phil Tyson
who stayed with us in August 2006

The villa was fabulous and in a wonderfully quiet location with impressive views down towards the sea.  We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you for making our holiday a special one! Thank you for making it so comfortable.

Yvonne Crane
who stayed with us in July 2006

From the outset, the villa impressed enormously. We loved the location, the stunning view down to the coast and the general tranquillity of the surrounding area. The villa was spotlessly clean, well-apportioned and well furnished with everything one might need, even including air conditioning and wifi access, but without being cluttered. Likewise the grounds and pool terrace all added to the feeling of space and relaxation. We immediately felt at home and could not have asked for a warmer welcome, from being met at the airport and escorted to the villa, to the provision of a ‘welcome pack’ that contained rather more than just basic provisions. We will have no hesitation in recommending Casa do Sonho to our friends and family.

The Newcombe family
who stayed with us in May 2013

Two weeks was not long enough. We have had holidays in villas all along the Algarve including a few very expensive ones when the whole of the family came with us. This time it was only 6 of us including a 10 week old baby. We felt like a change from the usual resort based villa and opted for this villa up in the hills. It was worth it, only a short drive from the airport so still central forN our usual visits up & down the coast. The view from the pool area really stops you at first, when we finally looked around the villa it had everything we could think of including a proper size fridge to keep all your drink & food in, we stocked up to such an extent we didn’t have to shop again for over a week. The girls loved the pool area for sunbathing & the electric sun canopy was most welcome for long lazy lunches. Ricardo & Laura where more than helpful & the SatNav they provided was really a bonus along with their local knowledge for out of the way places to visit was invaluable. No hesitation in highly recommending this villa as a quiet out of the way location that suited us, just wished we could have had longer. Finally another thanks to Ricardo & Laura for all their help & replying to all my emails so promptly. Best wishes Tony & Carole Collins.

Tony and Carole Collins
who stayed with us in July 2012

This villa cannot be faulted, although our flight arrived late evening we were met at the airport and escorted to the villa and any questions answered to make sure we were happy with everything,and our break began. We were only staying for 4 days as a surprise birthday treat,the 6 of us had plenty of room in this spacious villa,all mod cons and a superb view. We shall certainly return for a longer stay in the not to distant future ! Highly recommended.

Richard Evans
who stayed with us in May 2012

We all really enjoyed the holiday along with all the facilities and personal touches you made. You really seemed to think of everything, the little touches such us meeting us at the airport to ensure our smooth running to the villa, the little welcome hamper and the crazy Irish satnav really ade all the difference to our trip. We have already recommended your villa to several friends. In terms of the villa facilities, they were spot on for our requirements, not over the top but still but luxurious enough. The pool was idyllic and the view was the icing on the cake – truly breathtaking! We enjoyed both eating out and cooking in as the kitchen had all the mod cons including a dishwasher. I would love to come back!

Hannah Jane Lawrence
who stayed with us in June 2011

I’m not much of a writer but i really want to tell about our holiday in Casa do Sonho. We went there in the end of October and I can tell it was magnificent. The villa is situated (about 15 min from the airport) on a hill with a spectacular view over Faro and the ocean. With only a few neighbours it is very quiet what we really loved. The villa it self was very clean and all the equipment we needed was available. If you want to go on holiday to the villa we advice to rent a car. There is not a lot to do within a few miles but with a car you have everything within 20 minutes. And there is a navigator you may use from the owners with all the important places already programmed. That was perfect. And last but not least, the hospitality of the owners was great. There is somebody waiting on the airport and he guide you to the villa and when you have question, you can call or mail them and there is always a quick response. That is for us the reason we go back there. That’s for sure!! Thanks for a great time.

Dennis and Patricia
who stayed with us in October 2009

There is not much to add to the previous reviews. We can only confirm the excellent location, quietness and quality of the villa. Thansk to Laura and Ricardo for their warm welcome and their availability during our stay. Do you want to enjoy your holidays? If the answer is yes, give a try to this villa !

Louis Philippe Vasconcelos
who stayed with us in July 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves – it was a very restful place, up in the hills, with splendid views to keep one happy doing nothing for hours. The villa was excellent, being comprehensively fitted out, and was nicely furnished and clean & tidy when we arrived. the pool was a bit too cold, but that’s not your fault! I thought the “whole house music system” wonderful, and i am investigating something similar at our house in the UK. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone else, as long as they wanted peace & tranquility & not be “close to all amenities”. The views are truly extensive, all the way down to the little dots on the horizon as the airplanes arrive at Faro airport, and the clouds billow in from the sea. we will certainly keep your web site on our computer to see whether the villa is free in the future. It was good meeting you as well – your “personal service” in meeting & greeting at the airport was a nice touch, & we enjoyed your company at the villa one evening. Maybe one day I will learn to speak portugese as well as you can speak english!!!

James & Margery salmon
who stayed with us in October 2008

We were very impressed with the villa on our arrival – Ricardo kindly met us at the airport and showed us the way which was useful as we definately would have struggled to find it amongst the hills. The location away from the busy resorts was just what I was looking for on this holiday, to return in the evening to the tranquility of a quiet and private villa, enjoy a barbeque on the poolside with just the sounds of nature and background music (our own – no one else’s), was ideal. The children were very happy playing in or by the pool and if they wanted to get out of the midday sun, the villa was spacious, cool and comfortable and the choice of DVD’s was an unexpected bonus! The villa was extremely well equipped – everything one could possibly need in a home was there, and beautifully furnished. We like to jump in a car and explore without too much prior planning and our villa was in easy reach of a host of beautiful beaches, a waterpark and the lovely marina at Vilamoura. We also enjoyed a day at Zoomarine near Albefuira, a little further but still less than an hour’s drive. Supermarkets were within easy reach and also the pleasant Forum Algarve shopping area. I would recommend your villa to anyone looking for a good base from which to explore, but wanting peaceful, private, good quality self catering accommodation.

Anne Bullock
who stayed with us in July 2008

We would like to say how much we enjoyed staying at your lovely house in the hills. The setting was perfect, so relaxing, we especially enjoyed looking over Faro at night time, seeing all the lights in the distance. The house had everything one could need for the perfect summer vacation. We found your internet site very useful for places to visit and recommended restaurants, supermarkets etc. I am sure all your guests will find this information of value and well worth the effort and time you have no doubt spent on the web site. We would have no hesitation in recomending your house to our friends and family.

Chrissie, Andrew, Albert and Ian Bates
who stayed with us in June 2008

We had an excellent time in a lovelly villa that had everything we wanted. A private villa with exclusive views, beautiful pool, well appointed kitchen and only a short drive from the coast and golf. We would find it impossible to fault as it is an exclusive location to stay. We hope to return again and have already recommened the villa to a number of friends.

Rob & Rosie family
who stayed with us in May 2008

We had a lovely time staying at your villa. The villa was a wonderful place to spend our holiday and we would seriously consider returning for a second time, my husband has already recomended and sent your details to one of his colleagues. It was our first holiday in a villa and I enjoyed having a private pool and staying in a home away from home. Thanks again for a lovely holiday.

Griffiths family
who stayed with us in August 2007

It was a pleasure to stay in your villa after twice staying in villas over the years that we have booked as a ‘package holiday’ On this occasion even the booking of the villa over the internet was not a problem. From the minute we arrived in Portugal the personal level of service we received from both you and Ricardo, by meeting us at the airport, leading us to the villa and the tour of the villa made our arrival very stress free and pleasurable. The villa exceeded our expectations and had no comparison to the previous villas we have reserved in the Algarve. The level of furnishing and the attention to detail made the villa feel more like a home than a holiday villa. We all really enjoyed the pool and the unobstructed views towards the ocean made sitting by the pool an absolute pleasure. The barbecue was also well used during our visit. It was unfortunate the air condition had a problem on our arrival but we were more than impressed with the speed you had the problem resolved and provided a portable unit to cover for the few days until the unit was fixed. We also enjoyed getting to know you and Ricardo and appreciated the information you gave on local attractions, restaurants etc Once again thank you for helping us make this a memorable holiday and we hope we will have the opportunity to stay in your villa in the future.

McNicol family and Margaret
who stayed with us in July 2007

We had a really enjoyable holiday (or else we wouldn’t want to return!) and a stress free return journey. It was really nice to meet you & Ricardo, & thank you for all that you did for us.

Yvonne Scarsbrook
who stayed with us in August 2006 and August 2007

We would like to thank you and Ricardo for having us in your villa. We all agreed that we had an excellent vacation. It really felt as if the house was our own. We had a fantastic time and my daughter had a birthday to remember. We enjoyed the freedom that the villa gave us, it was extremely well equipped, the pool was excellent an excellent size. The only slight downside was the size of the beds, I think that we all found them a bit small, although I believe that nobody sleeps that well when in strange bed. Your customer service was excellent, from collecting and dropping us at the airport, to always being on hand to answer our calls for information and help, a truly memorable holiday and thanks.

Jim and Laura
who stayed with us in August 2006

We really enjoyed staying in your villa. It was just what we needed a relaxing away from it all holiday. The villa is wonderful and has fantastic views. The teenagers in our group thought the music that played all through the house was FANTASTIC and we are now looking in to how it could work at home. Although the house is on different levels it was still child friendly for my 8 month old with shade outside so he could join in the fun happening in your fab pool.

Grace and family
who stayed with us in September 2006

Just wanted to let you know that we really enjoyed staying in the villa…it was nice and secluded with plenty of space and a lovely view. The beds were really comfortable and the showers were good.I would recommend the villa to other people as it is very spacious, has a good quiet location and has everything you need.

Karen Strange
who stayed with us in August 2006


The house is great, it has pretty much everything we need! And we are quite demanding as we have two young children. We felt like we have gone from one home to another as all the amenities are just to hand. Hence we like it so much.

Russell Whitlock
who stayed with us in June and September 2006 and September 2007


Just a short note to say thank you for the use of your fantastic house, without doubt the best accommodation we’ve ever stayed in on holiday. As well as the house itself, we loved the quietness of the area and the view from the pool area was something we were still enjoying the day we left!

Neal Ford
who stayed with us in July 2006

About Ricardo and Laura

We are together since 1997, when Ricardo moved from Lisbon to establish himself in Algarve. Back in those times we lived in a small villa not far from Almancil, about 15 km from Casa do Sonho. Then we sold that property and bought the current villa. After a couple years living here we decided to move again.